Favourites · My Life

The Crafting Necessities

Welcome to my Craft Room! I’m so excited to share all the tools, supplies, and materials that I rely on for crafting amigurumi cuteness.

The most important thing is obviously yarn, so let’s start by taking a look at my collection of Bernat Handicrafter Cotton. If you’re designing patterns for amigurumi, I suggest using the same yarn for all of your patterns. The consistency of one yarn (or at least the same yarn weight/fibre) really adds a whole new level of cute (in my opinion anyway 🙂 )

DSC_0001

Next, we have my DK weight yarn, which is mostly Knit Picks CotLin as well as some beautiful Louisa Hardings Jasmine (Light Aqua). CotLin is the yarn I used to design the Little Dress up Doll pattern. I love the colours that Knit Picks offers. My other favourite is Knit Picks Dishie, which is a worsted weight cotton but I find it lighter than Bernat Handicrafter.

Now onto tools. These Clover crochet hooks are my lifesaver. Recently I thought I had lost my 4.00 mm, and I tried to crochet a dishcloth using a regular crochet hook without the special grip handle. It was so difficult! I had no idea how much easier these hooks make crocheting until I was without them. And I’m also crediting these for not having sore hands despite the frantic amount of crocheting I’ve been doing lately! You can purchase this set on Amazon. The set doesn’t come with two of the pink and orange hooks, I just have those as extras because they are the sizes I use most often (3.25 mm and 3.75 mm).

DSC_0020Here is my little sewing box where I store the tools I use all the time.

DSC_0058DSC_0061DSC_0063 And of course, safety eyes! I order my safety eyes from 6060 on Etsy. This little plastic box is perfect for organizing the eyes by size. I have 9 mm (which I use most regularly), 10 mm ovals, 6 mm, and some 12 mm coloured eyes (brown and green).

DSC_0010DSC_0013I use Loops & Threads Supreme Fiberfill. It’s all that’s available at Michaels now (in Canada at least). At first, I didn’t enjoy using it because it’s so dense, but I’m getting used to it now and I do like how sturdy my amigurumi are when I fill them with this.

DSC_0029.jpgSo we’ve covered the basics, and it’s on to extras! Below we have my felt and fabric collection. The fabric is all scraps from my Mom, and these are perfect for my Prairie Bunny ears.

DSC_0043

Last Saturday I purchased five new jumbo balls of Bernat Handicrafter Cotton. I just adore the colours! The blue will be used for an elephant, but as for the rest, I have no plans. Maybe Corner to Corner dishcloths or blankets.

DSC_0052DSC_0049This is my craft caddy where I store most of these supplies. It sure holds a lot! I keep my pattern books on top. I will try to review many of these books over the summer.

And here is the rest in its natural habitat (a shelf beside my caddy). My goal is to be able to fit it all in my craft caddy, but this works for now.

DSC_0038Hope you enjoyed this little tour, and I will check back in tomorrow with a FREE pattern! 🙂

Leave a Reply

