Favourites · Knitting

May 2016: My 5 Favourite Etsy Shops

Thank Goodness it’s Friday! Hard to believe I’ve blogged five days in a row now. And turns out it’s not nearly as difficult of a commitment as I imagined! Today I’m excited to feature my favourite (amigurumi focused) Etsy shops. Be sure to visit them and be overwhelmed by cuteness!

1. LuvlyGurumi

This shop has been a favourite of mine for years. I have purchased nearly every LuvlyGurumi pattern. I adore the style of the amigurumis. They are so sweet! The placement of the safety eyes and mouth designs are just perfect. The patterns themselves are also clear, well written and include photos. My personal favourite (although it’s nearly impossible to choose just one) is the monkey with his adorable hood and banana. I’m also a huge fan of using the same yarn for all of my patterns and this shop’s patterns use Vanna’s Choice, which has a great range of colours for amigurumi.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 3.13.47 PM.png

2. Mary Jane’s Tea Room

This shop is unbelievably cute, especially the Little Yarn Dolls pattern which I’ve just purchased and am so excited to knit! I purchased Method 2, which is knit flat and then seamed because I’m not comfortable using circular needles just yet. It’s so neat that this shop offers both a flat and circular version of the same pattern!

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 3.21.43 PM.png

3. Dolly Time

This is another knitted toy shop, and the dolls are so sweet! A couple years ago I knit a puppet using a pattern I purchased from this shop called Ruby and Rose Hand Puppets. It was easy to follow even though I’m not an experienced knitter, and mine turned out just like the picture. I am excited to try some more patterns from Dolly Time!

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 3.49.10 PM.png

4. Bubbles and Bongo

This is a shop I only recently discovered, and I fell in love with the photos of amigurumi toys on pastel coloured backgrounds. I have purchased the absolutely angelic Pippa the Pig pattern, and I’ll post a picture once I’ve crocheted her!

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 3.54.22 PM

5. hookabee

So exciting to visit such cute amigurumi shops that are also Canadian! I adore the style of these patterns. I’ve attempted crocheting an amigurumi in the back loops only, but so far I’ve struggled to design a toy that I’m happy with using that method. I think I’m just too used to going through both loops, but this shop has inspired me to give it another go! I also love the Bumble Bee shop icon and cover photo that match the Large Bee pattern. Large sized amigurumi are so much fun and these are so well designed. I have purchased the Narwhal pattern and can’t wait to start crocheting!

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 4.03.25 PM

Hope you are inspired to get crafting this weekend!

Until Monday, happy crocheting and or knitting 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “May 2016: My 5 Favourite Etsy Shops

Leave a Reply

