New Patterns

The Amigurumi Horse

I’m running a little late, but I couldn’t fail to post on the day after I promised to blog daily! This post introduces my new Horse pattern, available now on Etsy, Ravelry, and Craftsy.

horse

I’ve always loved horses, and I used to take horseback riding lessons in my teens.

I don’t ride anymore, but I have finally designed a crocheted horse! This is a project that I’ve tried in the past, but this animal is a challenge to recreate with yarn and a crochet hook. It’s difficult to shape and join the body, neck, and head of a crocheted horse because amigurumi is suited to animals that don’t require a long neck and that have a head sitting directly on top of the body.

This time, I was successful. I’m happy with the balance between realistic proportions and amigurumi cuteness (a larger than average head).This little guy is 8″ tall and he can stand on all four legs or sit back on his hind legs. If your child is begging you to buy a pony, crochet a horse instead by following this pattern. It’s much cheaper than the real thing and the maintenance is minimal!

Leave a Reply

