Amigurumi Projects

Pride and Prejudice and Puppets

DSC_0053

Happy Friday! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe I’ve been somewhat consistent with posting on here lately! Im going to aim for every Friday from now on, we’ll see how that goes…

Anyways, I’ve been so excited to post this! Several weeks ago I stayed up all night designing this Elizabeth Bennet puppet. It’s based on a puppet pattern I designed a couple of years ago, but this one is about a thousand times better. She’s made out of Debbie Bliss Baby Cash (like the mice). While I made her, I re watched the entire Lizzie Bennet Diaries web series on Youtube…that’s how long it took! Her mouth opens and closes by pushing her nose up and down.

DSC_0062

DSC_0052

It was really fun to design the dress. I tried to base it off of the colours and styles of the ones she wears in the 1995 miniseries, with the little jacket and everything. And I used a red pencil crayon to colour the cheeks and crocheted slip stitches with pink embroidery floss around the mouth. Both those finishing touches are ones I’ve never really used before, but I love the look on her!

DSC_0064

DSC_0057

And I’ve definitely been thinking about making other characters. I think Jane would be next on my list. They are pretty time consuming though, so it might be a while before I get around to it (definitely not until after finals!) Eventually I also plan to list this pattern in my etsy shop πŸ™‚Β The great thing about Jane Austen books is that they are all in the public domain, so I won’t have to worry about copyrights!

DSC_0042

2 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice and Puppets

Leave a Reply

