Amigurumi Projects

What is Crochetable and Uncrochetable?

1

I can tell you what is uncrochetable…a wimple. (Ok, it was a little more difficult coming up with a Sister Bernadette quote for the title of this post than it was to rework Chummy quotes into last week’s post, but it’s the best I could come up with at 4 in the morning on my break).

I’m a few days late, but amazingly I am keeping my promise to update once a week! I wanted to have this posted on Sunday, but lack of sleep and general weekend craziness (I went to Montreal with my friend Sarah to a Just for Laughs Gala hosted by Kristin Chenoweth!! She sang four songs, including Popular (from the Wicked Musical, and it was the “around the world version” where she sings the chorus in German and Japanese) and then we got to sort of meet her! (Sort of because she was being rushed away by 6′11″ body guards, but Sarah got her Ipod case autographed and we were both standing less than a foot away from her!) But waiting to meet her at the stage door meant that we missed our bus home (even after running all the way to the Bus station in the dark) and had to wait for the next bus, which didn’t leave Montreal until midnight).

Wow, that’s way too many brackets within brackets. Anyways, I will get to the point of this post now, which is Sister Bernadette!! My absolute most favourite character from Call the Midwife!

2

And before I bore you all with too many details about how I made this amigurumi, I want to thank everybody so so much for all the super nice comments I received on the Chummy doll!! For those wondering about whether I will be selling a pattern and the actual dolls, I’m just waiting to find out from Neal Street producers whether I’m allowed to do that (copyright and everything). But they’ve said they’ll be in touch with me soon, so I’ll let you all know as soon as they do.

I assumed that since I had the basic pattern already designed, Sister Bernadette would be a cinch compared to Chummy. Boy, was I wrong. Like I mentioned previously, the wimple was a challenge, and I had to revert to white felt instead of crocheting it. The only thing that was as difficult to make as the wimple were the glasses. Unfortunately, not even American Girl Doll (and definitely not Michaels) carry 50’s style glasses complete with an upsweep. So these specs were crafted out of lenses I popped from a plastic pair of doll glasses, a paper clip and two paper fasteners. These were all put together with pliers and a glue gun (mostly by my brother Mitch at 3 am on Sunday morning).

3

I also had issues with sizing. While I was making the habit, I started to think that I should just give up because the doll was turning out too tall and too wide when compared with Chummy. I thought I should start from scratch and use totally different yarn in a lighter weight but using the same pattern as Chummy so that she’d still be proportionate but just smaller. I even went so far as to buy lighter yarn from Michaels. But this idea went down the drain pretty quick when I finished crocheting a head out of lighter yarn (Paton’s Grace) and it turned out about the size of my thumbnail…a little smaller than I was going for. So after that setback I returned to the original that I had been so frustrated with. But once I had finished her completely, I was so so happy with how she turned out! She is a little bigger than I had planned, but so cute that I don’t think it really matters.

5

I’m just so excited about this doll! And now that I have the basic pattern done for a nun and a nurse, the rest of the dolls should be easier to design 🙂 Plus I will have a lot more time to make them, because in less than a week I’m going to New York!! No more night shift for seven whole wonderful days! I’m beyond excited 😀

Stay tuned for my next addition to my CTM amigurumi collection (which may have something to do with post Sanatorium Sister Bernadette 😉 )

4

4 thoughts on “What is Crochetable and Uncrochetable?

  1. I saw your Chummy doll and thought it was fantastic but your Shelagh ones are even better IMHO! (Though I may be biased because she’s my favourite CTM character too). I especially love the glasses – very authentic looking, especially the ‘upsweep’, lol. I hope you get the go ahead from Neal St Productions to do something with these, your creativity deserves some recognition/reward. I have subscribed to your blog and I look forward to seeing what you do for a follow-up… 🙂
    P.S. Yay to you for meeting Kristin Chenoweth in Montreal. Hope you had an equally exciting time in New York!

    1. Thanks so much! And I agree, Shelagh is definitely my favourite character too 🙂 I’m hoping to have another doll made by the end of this week. And thanks, I had a great time in New York. I ate way too much 😛 but it was a lot of fun and I got to see the Lion King musical, which was sooo neat!

      I really appreciate your comment and thanks for subscribing to my blog 🙂

      Amy

  2. Wow – she’s marvellous! You don’t have the pattern for her to swap to a swedish midwife? *blink* *blink* I would be soooo glad! Call the midwife is my obsession too, and it is exciting to learn how the midwifes worked in the 1950s.

Leave a Reply

