Amigurumi Projects

Call the Crocheted Chummy!

My obsession with Call the Midwife has entered the ultimate phase: the amigurumifiying of one of my favourite characters…Chummy! She’s just tickety-boo and marvellous, weighs about the size of a turkey and I refer to her as “little bean” (None of that is true, except for the tickety-boo and marvellous bit, but I’m working as many Chummy phrases into this post as possible 😉 )

ImageDSC_0152

This has been the longest, most challenging but absolutely the most rewarding amigurumi project I’ve ever completed. I started it over a month ago, and since I work nights now, it was a loooong process. Plenty of trial and error, lots of sweat (the weather’s been very humid and humid doesn’t mix well with aluminum crochet hooks), too many trips to Michaels, a request for my wonderful cousins Katie and Julia to loan me a spiffing pair of American Girl doll glasses, and combing through Call the Midwife pictures to make sure I chose yarn that was as close to the real-life colours as possible have all finally culminated in my Camilla Fortescue-Cholmeley-Browne amigurumi. It was a bit of a scrape, but she’s finished and I couldn’t be more pleased with her.

good-chummy

DSC_0209Listening to the amazing Call the Midwife soundtrack and re watching episodes from the first two seasons while crocheting made this project enjoyable, even when I had to redo the diabolical blue uniform for the third time to make it fit just right. (Maybe it would have been preferable to make it out of crimplene instead of Snuggly Wuggly acrylic yarn?) And of course I will have to make another uniform in eau-de-nil, I’m sure she’d look a picture in that!

I’ve included pictures of my notes, which will hopefully be written up into a proper pattern someday. I do plan on making as many CTM characters as I can (before I die, because they honestly take forever and a day to make). Sister Bernadette (or Shelagh) is next on the list!

DSC_0146DSC_0155

DSC_0156Even when I’d completed her, it couldn’t be as simple as taking pictures and posting them. The picture that turned out best was one where I’d stupidly forgotten to include the delivery bag that I slaved over, so I called upon the generous services of my brother, who photoshopped the delivery bag into the picture for me. He did a fantastic job, Bravo Mitch! (Except then we both came to the conclusion that the original picture looked better, even without a delivery bag, but I had to give him credit for wasting his evening for my amigurumi’s sake)

Hope all you Call the Midwife fans enjoy these pictures of Chummy while you wait eagerly for season 3! (And I’m sure you’d all agree that she’s the sort of amigurumi a chap’s mother would like) 😀

Image

35 thoughts on “Call the Crocheted Chummy!

  1. Love it! You did a wonderful job! It’s too bad they are so difficult and time consuming because I know I would buy her! I think many fans would! Can’t wait to see more!

  2. I’m at a loss for words. This is quite possibly the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I’m absolutely crazy about the show and now equally crazy about this little gal. She’s perfectly Chummy and delightful. You have a new fan in me. Thanks for sharing this labor of love. (Pun intended!)

  3. I’ve just found the #1 item for my Christmas wish list. This may be the most charming thing I’ve seen (and blog entry I’ve read) all summer. However, I’m not sure Chummy wouldn’t have advised you to “use French knots to make that jolly fellows hair.” Seriously well done.

  4. Oh my goodness, this is soooooooo Chummy! I love it. This is the first time I’ve called by your blog and I like what I see so I’ve clicked +Follow.

    1. Thanks! I am still working on the pattern, and I’m also waiting to find out for sure if it’s ok for me to sell the pattern (copyright and all that) but hopefully it will be in my etsy shop soon 🙂

  5. Thanks so much everybody!! I loved reading your comments and am so glad you like my Chummy doll 🙂 I am hoping to have a pattern in my etsy shop soon!

      1. Thanks! And I do have a Ravelry account, I just haven’t done anything with it so far, but I do plan to soon! 🙂

  6. I am completely loving this Chummy! The Call of the Midwife is my favorite show now. Can’t miss one episode!

  7. Someone just sent me an email with two other dolls a nun and woman that married the doctor 🙂

    I don’t crochet. My mother used to… I’m going to try and find someone here in Toronto to make me a Chummy doll and then the other 2 if I can find the patterns for them.

  8. Absolutely fabulous -going to make it for my midwife friend who’s getting married shortly -it will be her something new (or blue!)
    What size glasses did you use ?
    Thank you again

    1. Hi Leah! So excited that you are making Chummy! I used American Girl Doll glasses, and I’m pretty sure those ones only come in one size so I’m sorry to not have more helpful info for you! Maybe any glasses intended for 18″ dolls would work?

      Amy

Leave a Reply

